The Annals of America
The Annals of America
1.58 The Happiness of a People
0:00
-40:00

1.58 The Happiness of a People

1676, William Hubbard
Image
A picturesque scene of a colonial New England village in 1676, showcasing content families and thriving community activities such as a town meeting, church gathering, and market day, illustrating the collective well-being and harmony.

“I have now reigned above fifty years in victory or peace; beloved by my subjects, dreaded by my enemies, and respected by my allies. Riches and honours, power and pleasure, have waited on my call, nor does any earthly blessing appear to have been wanting to my felicity. In this situation, I have diligently numbered the days of pure and genuine happiness which have fallen to my lot: they amount to Fourteen: - O man! place not thy confidence in this present world!”

~ Abd al-Rahman III, quoted by Gibbon in Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, chap. LII

The Annals of America is a mammoth project whose sole purpose will be to tell the American story (via Podcast format) using Primary Source Materials strictly from The Annals of America, first Published in 1968 by Encyclopaedia Britannica & edited by Charles Van Doren & Mortimer J. Adler. Subscribe to join me, Dear Listeners, on this long but meaningful journey!


Here is an Excellent Supplement by K. B. Murdock titled ‘William Hubbard and the Providential Interpretation of History.’ It gives much-needed details on what sort of worldview Hubbard et al. have in mind when delivering their sermons.

Happy Reading!


Your support is vital for this Mammoth undertaking & endeavour!

If this project interests you, I would greatly appreciate it if you subscribed to a Monthly/Yearly pledge to support my work so that I can provide you, Dear Listeners, with Top-quality material.

Refer a friend

Come & join me to explore & study US History as it ought to be: in the words of the peoples of the time themselves!

Alternatively, you can tip here:

Buy Me A Coffee

Thank You, Dear Listeners, for all your support!


Share The Annals of America

Share

Get more from Ahnaf Ibn Qais in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Leave a comment

0 Comments
The Annals of America
The Annals of America
Synopsis of "The Annals of America"; first Published in 1968 by Encyclopaedia Britannica, & edited by Charles Van Doren & Mortimer J. Adler.